First set of scans - new Epson V600

David Mitchell

Hi all,

Well...I now have a nice shiny Epson V600 :D I have just scanned in the MF negatives I have had for months (as I had no other way to get them into the PC lol). Im still learning about all the settings, when checking on 'theartofphotography' youtube channel he has an older Epson scanner but the software is basically the same, was interested to know about what resolution ie DPI I should scan at.

Here is what was suggested:

LF (4x5) - 800 dpi
MF - 1200 dpi
35mm - 2400 dpi

I initially ran the first set of scans for my Kodak Six-20 on 400dpi and will probably rescan them again at 1200 with all options off (ie an exact scan of the negative with no processing during scanning) I can then use LR to tweek them.

Anyway, here are a few shots from my cameras, my first go at the scanner and my first few tweeks in LR with proper negatives - I can't change the white balance on it like I could do with the digial images although then remembered that film sorts out the white balance...cause its film lol

Anyhow, here are some of the scans I like, the negatives aren't the best due to the time between getting them back and scanning them.

Kodak Six-20, only 400 dpi (1.1 Megapixel) and this is actually flipped horizontally from real life but I actually like it better this way lol

20130104-img003_zps592dcbf1.jpg

20130104-img008_zps932fea0e.jpg

Bessa at 1200 dpi (10.9 Megapixel), corner of the garden

20130104-img019_zpsb83dd206.jpg

I was using the little tool that tweeks the tone map to move parts of the image up or down in value, need to play around with it a bit more but its all a learning curve. These are also my first ever shots on film so I didn't have the best exposed images to start with lol.

Last edited:
Very nice, David. Just looked up the V600 and it's cheaper than I thought it was going to be. Looking forward to seeing more of your images. Lots more!