Greetings from Brisbane, QLD

Laurence Griffiths

Hello all,

I am a retired civil engineer from Brisbane's bayside and have been taking photos since my grandmother gave me a Kodak 127 'Brownie' as a sixth birthday present way back in the early 1960s.

Kodak 127 'Brownie' by Laurence Griffiths, on Flickr

A Kodak Instamatic 33 saw me through school and university days, but my first SLR camera was an Olympus OM-2N, which I bought with my first year of work's Christmas bonus cheque in December 1980. I still use Olympus / OM System cameras, but have had brief detours into Nikon and Canon. - I still have a Canon EOS 6D, which I take out from time to time.

Being born and brought up in South Africa and having worked both there and briefly in Rhodesia / Zimbabwe, I realised that the world that I knew was changing rapidly and I was determined to document the Africa that I saw. Admittedly this was mainly for selfish reasons. - I wanted to remember things I had seen and places I had been. Physically, I lived and worked in South Africa, Zimbabwe and New Zealand, before moving to Australia during 1994/1995.

Sometime during the early 1980s, I came to the realisation that a photographic print was a picture, whereas viewing a slide photo projected against a large screen was like looking through a window. I started to use slide film more and more. This turned out to be lucky as, in January 1985, our house was flooded during a major rain event. All my negatives and most of my prints were stored beneath a bench in my bedroom and were destroyed. But all my slides were in trays at the top of a cupboard and so escaped destruction, together with those prints which were in photo albums. Ever since those days I have been rather paranoic about backing up my images.