New Instrument - Quite A Challenge...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Interesting Rob. How different is this from the instrument you studied in Turkey? I like the (mostly!) running rhythm in the music. It seems that most of the melody is carried on the higher notes with the lower strings only coming in occasionally, or is that just from these two examples.

I studied the oud, which is a relatively small fretless lute. With the oud, you have to guess where the notes are, but with the tanbur each note has a fret. We in the West have 12 notes in the octave, but the Turks have 53!!! That makes for very small intervals, and no chords - a bit like Indian music, but without the drone.

95% of the playing is up and down the first pair of strings, with, as you observed, the lower notes just being used occasionally. I'm not used to moving continually up and down the fretboard, and that is one of the main problems to overcome if I want to progress. Also, the piece I played does not use the microtones - it's more or less in the C Major scale, but it's helping me get my bearings.

Glad you found it interesting! I wanted to do something which my students wouldn't touch ;)

In the second video - watch the fiddle player. The technique is odd in that you don't press the string down with the left hand, you just put the finger nail along the side of the string. Really strange, but very beautiful.

Venerable though these intruments are, and years to gain some form of mastery on them
a touch of irreverance Rob to keep it, as ghetto kids say "fresh & real" : Sex Pistols Anarchy in the U.K

Not judging you. Just your insensitivity towards Lesley on that thread in resolution
whihc i only just read.
I kept my email to you light instead of making it heavy saying by saying you naughty boy you derserve a birching