Non destructive workflow

Lesley Jones

Otherwise know as Zooey
So... is there such a thing and how much does it cost in terms of software, time and memory? Until recently I was a total novice in terms of editing. Some kind soul at work gave me a free CD off the front of a magazine to get me started. It was something like Elements 2.0 Lite and I used it for a while to enter photographs in our fortnightly newsgroup competitions. Then my husband bought me Elements 3.0 and later I upgraded to Elements 6.0, which I used until Christmas last year.

Until about two years ago, I couldn't get my head around layers and made all changes on the background layer, so when you see me say in here that I have to re-scan a negative, you know why. Then I moved on to having adjustment layers for levels and hue/saturation. About a year ago the penny dropped and I finally figured out how to paint in adjustments using a mask. I still don't use any selection tool and I don't think I ever will.

Move forward to last October and a three day trip to Yorkshire where I finally got the chance at some "proper" landscapes...
... and banding in the sky. :( It seemed as though working in 8 bit was the problem, so I bit the bullet and bought myself CS5. Now seeing as I only used about 5% of Elements, I probably use 1% of full Photoshop. It did get me on the ladder though, but I don't intend to upgrade. Ever. Not at those prices!

My husband bought me a Martin Evening book for Christmas and I spent the entire holiday browsing from one end to the other. I know a bit more, but I also know there is a whole lot more that will forever remain a mystery. At least I won't have banding in the sky again.