Just for Show Novoflex BALPRO T/S review Part 1: stability and stacking

Nathan Wright

14786825311_b6210c5308_o.jpg

First, the review link: Novflex BALPRO T/S review Part 1: stability and stacking

As some of you know, I am a still life audiophile photographer. My clients are magazines, boutique shops, and large manufacturers. I get called in to shoot hard stuff like earphones (believe me... these things are buggers) for certain companies that hire any old photographer and find they can't or don't know how to do:

1. Still life
2. Have no idea how to handle cables, set objects, light, etc., and so on

I have used 4x5 backs and tilt shift lenses and macro lenses for years, but decided I would like to try to mash my needs together into a lightweight bellows setup. I tried the Horseman VCC Pro and found it to be inadequate for all but very simple single-exposure photography.

Onto Novoflex. Love at first use. While I don't want to copy or paste or re-write the review, I will say this: it is worthwhile. Completely. The images in this thread were shot with it, as were the images in my review.

For that essay, please head here: Novflex BALPRO T/S review Part 1: stability and stacking

Beautifully lit, love the colours and the shallow depth of field effect, superb.

My brother (many many) years ago shot 'product photography' mainly using Sinar P2 5x4 and Mamiya RZ 67 equipment in his studio, the photographic results were utterly sublime.

Keep at it, marvellous stuff Sir.