Bonjour From Sunny London!

Shane Johns

Ok, I slightly post processed the weather here....we've actually had sheet lightning, thunder and torrential rain for the past hour!

I was very kindly invited to join RPF by Chris (Dodkin). We got chatting via email a couple of weeks ago and I asked his opinion and advice on the Fuji X-Pro 1. Chris was incredibly helpful and his reassurance tipped me over the scales to buy the X-Pro 1.

I've been into photography for only 4 years now. My first camera was an old Nikon D40 and I used it to learn about exposure. I bought a 40 year-old AIS Nikkor to practise setting the shutter speed, aperture and focus manually, and this really helped me (I'm still learning, of course!).

I then upgraded to a Nikon D90, probably one of the best cameras Nikon has ever made. I used it for 3 years before buying my first full frame this summer, a Nikon D600. I have to say, it's a fantastic camera, but I just felt that something was missing. In the past I had never wanted to get a mirrorless camera because I just didn't think the image quality, low light performance and dynamic range could get near a good APS-C camera, let alone FF. Then I read about the Fuji X-Pro 1. It looked amazing, and reviews confirmed that it ticked all the right boxes....this was a camera that could rival not just the best APS-C DSLRs, but also FF models.

So now I am the owner of an X-Pro 1! I told Chris that I took it out for the first time last weekend and the edge to edge sharpness was amazing. My other love is the post processing. For those who don't believe in editing or that a photo should be left the way it came out...stop reading now as it's heresy what I do to some images :). I wanted to be an artist when I was younger and using software like LR5, Nik Software and even Photoshop gives me the ability to really develop my images the way I want them to look. I'd rather someone hated a photo of mine than just move on to the next one nonchalantly.