I think I've fallen in with a bad lot

John Allen

They seem to be leading me down a dark and dangerous road.

I was going along just fine. Perfectly satisfied with myself and the state of modern photography. I started shooting digital when I was given a 2.1mp digital camera. That's 2-point-1 megapixels. I was amazed at the image quality from a camera with such low resolution. That was replaced by a 7mp, whicvh was replaced by a 16, which was replaced by a 24, which was replaced by a better 24 and all was well with the world. Until I came here. Now, pictures like this one from that 2mp kodak aren't good enough anymore.
wallpaper15.jpg

Nor was this one from a Minolta pocket camera that was about the size of a deck of cards.
PICT0007.jpg

Or this one from a 7mp camera
scott-tree-bw.jpg

I could go on, but you get the idea. There was a moment tonight when I knew I was lost. It wasn't when I bought a couple of film cameras and later bought some lenses. It wasn't even when I started spending hours watching videos on how to repair vintage cameras and lenses. I've always considered myself pretty tough. It takes a lot more than that to break me. No, none of those moments was the one. The moment of truth came when I found myself about to click on the Buy It Now button on an ebay auction for a Mamiya RB67 kit. I haven't even taken a full roll of 35mm yet and here I am ready to spend hundreds on medium format. That's it. I'm a lost cause AND IT'S ALL YOU GUYS FAULT!

You say you were "about to click" - but did you???

I have an RB67 Pro SD and four lenses, 250mm, 65mm, 140mm, 90mm. I love it, but can't afford to use it as often as I'd like. Despite all the equipment being in excellent condition, it cost me very little, and consequently wouldn't get me much if I sold it. So it largely sits on the shelf, but I must get it out again.

It's certainly heavy, but manageable hand-held, though I always use a tripod with it.