Infrared

I started playing with infrared photography one month ago having a D200 converted by Precision Camera in Connecticut. The conversion included the removal of the blocking mirror, installation of a 715nm IR filter, and calibration of the body with a Nikon 18-70 AF-S lens.

Some examples can be seen in my "New" and "Infrared Images" sets -
http://www.flickr.com/photos/calstanley/

The hardest thing is to try to visualize the scene as it will look in IR. It's rather addictive once you get started.

Cal
Windham, ME

It certainly looks cold in IR One of the people I work with thought she was looking at pictures of one of the ice storms we've had in the past.

Once you get the white balance set properly, IR reproduces foliage as white, giving the appearance of ice or frost covered leaves. Without a custom WB - everything is shades of red (one image in the set shows that). With a custom WB - foliage is white and the sky is a gold/brown color. Images with blue sky have been altered in post to change the gold/brown to blue.

Cal

I played around with my d70 and a 715 nm filter but only ever got shades of red ... I saw all these photos people had taken with ir converted cameras and (as i mentioned else where) was that fasinated I nearly had a d50 done... I unfortunately lost £500 on a sale on eBay at the time - long story - so didn't go ahead...
Did you chose the d200 for a reason?
What needs to be done to the lens in relation to the body?