Critique Welcomed Lancaster Street Portrait and People

Wes Hall

Faith Portrait Forum.jpg Faith Portrait 2 Forum.jpg Soft Silouhette Leo BW Forum.jpg Clash of Styles BW edit Forum.jpg A walk around the city whilst doing the mundane shopping resulted in a couple of portraits, one of a lovely lady who called herself Faith.

She casually stopped me to ask if I was a photographer as she was looking for someone to photograph her art. We spoke, which considering being a stranger, outdoors in these times, was a surprisingly novel and human experience. I gave her my email address and asked if I could take a portrait of her.

I hope she connects so I can share the shots.

I'm curious about your technique in these photos, Wes. The color palette in the first one is lovely, as is the lady's expression, but I'm not sure I dig the soft focus. I'm sure it must appeal to you, though, so what do I know? Anyway, good on you for posting these under a "critique welcomed" banner.

I love the story of the lady asking you to photograph her artwork. Hopefully she’ll allow her works to be shared here.

Yes, the soft focus is interesting and maybe questionable. I look forward to getting your thoughts on it. I just thought I’d forgotten to put my glasses on.

Thanks for the responses both! The soft focus effect is more pronounced due to the image scaling and reduction to post here, but it's not going to change the effect noticeably. I bought a job lot of around 50 screw on lens filters- was a bargain from a certain auction site as I got some I wanted (colour for B/W etc) and cost well under a £1 per filter, so I wanted to experiment with some of them.

These were the result of a 'spot' Hoya filter, where the centre is clear but the rest has a diffuse effect. I'd stacked a Jessops polariser onto this as well on my Super Takumar 135 f.3.5- I suspect the extra layer of filter from the polariser enhanced the softness and I'll have to try a couple of shots with just the spot lens.