Critique Welcomed Leica still life.

Art Meripol

After some 50 years as a pro I had never used a Leica. All my available cash, when there was some, went to gear for the job. But all these years left me wondering about the 'mystique' of a Leica. I am such a fan of the great Jim Marshall who often had 5 around his neck. At this point I don't need any new gear and when a fellow shooter offered to sell his old Leica M4p I dove in. It had a recent mechanical restoration but the body was not lovely. That did not matter to me. I wanted to shoot with it, not wear a status symbol. Recently the vulcanite started crumbling every time I pick it up so I'm going to have it replaced with a new coat. After 40+ years I think the camera deserves it. So I thought I'd do a quick portrait of the body before I send it off.

As for that mystique? I get it. It's a delight to hold and use. It's a throwback to my younger days when I started out using a small Yashica rangefinder. The feel in hand and the sound of the shutter make you want to keep shooting. I know there are a lot of Leica wonks who will tell you this one or that one is the 'better' one. I've only used this one but it is a delight.

Attachments

• 230517_LeicaM4P_0023web.jpg
    230517_LeicaM4P_0023web.jpg
    435 KB · Views: 8
It’s a delight when you find something that works so well you don’t want to put it down. The closest I’ve come to one of those lovelies is.. um.. a Zorki 4, so not close at all. Having said that, though, even those old clunkers have their charm. Being a left-eyed tog doesn’t do me any favours either. Glad it’s been a good experience.
Btw, cracking shot of the air hanger 🙂