Mave On The Move Week 29

David M. Byrne

Hello once again,

At the start of this week, shortly after leaving the relative quiet of the beach, I was standing on the side of the road outside a bus station in southern Kerala, India. It was, in a word, bedlam: people, countless numbers of people, going this way & that; traffic (auto rickshaws, cars, buses, oxen-pulled carts, mopeds, bicycles) all somehow avoiding each other on the same stretch of inadequate road; food stalls cooking the next meal; cows on a slow meander; beggars lying in the gutter or standing with their hands out; traders boisterously advertising their wares. It was a mealy of overbearing sights, sounds and smells. It was typical India.

This is my third time to the country so its overbearingness isn't a total surprise. But this is my first time here with the intentions of photographing the country & standing there on the side of the road I found myself questioning as to how I was going to sufficiently capture the scene all around me. I quickly came to the realisation that I wasn't going to be able to (can anyone?). I felt lost & I didn't know what approach I was going to take to photographing this country. I decided to not worry too much about it, do my thing & see what happens. One week on from that day and it seems that people are dominating my pictures thus far. That doesn't really surprise me; with 1.2 billion colourful people, almost one-fifth of the world’s population, you’re never too far from an Indian or, as is typical, many, many Indians. I mentioned earlier this week in one of my travel updates that I’d been hankering for something other than people to photograph so I have tried to mix it up: in the past week I've tried without success - & from two different locations - to visit the Kerala backwaters; & I visited Mysore primarily to see its gaudy, over-the-top palace… only be prohibited from photographing it. No doubt over the coming weeks I’ll photograph a monument or two, a sunset, a riv