Bonjour de San Diego

Darren Bradley

Hi everyone. I ran into Chris Dodkin yesterday while scouting out a future photo location (the new pedestrian bridge to the ballpark here in downtown San Diego), and he mentioned this forum so I thought I'd join.

I live in San Diego with my French wife and young daughter. I travel a fair amount for work, and usually keep my camera in my bag to shoot photos when not at work.

I started learning about photography around the age of 12, when I got my first SLR (a Yashica FX-2, followed by a Canon AE-1 Program, which I still have) and turned my mom's laundry room into a darkroom. Spent high school as a newspaper and yearbook photographer, and then worked briefly as an assistant to a pro photographer in college before basically packing my gear into a closet and giving up photography entirely for about 15 years. I guess I got burned out on spending all my time in the darkroom. Always preferred shooting pics to processing them, I guess.

But with the rise of digital, I jumped back in with both feet a few years ago. My real passion is architecture and modern design (especially the mid-20th century modern variety), and I use photography as a way of trying to get people to notice and appreciate buildings I love, and see them in new ways.

I first picked up a Nikon D90 with a kit lens, but soon left those in the closet in favor of a 10-24mm and a 35mm prime. But my obsession for architecture soon drove me to full frame and tilt-shift lenses, so Canon became the obvious choice. I sold all my Nikon equipment and went [back] to Canon. Haven't looked back. Currently have a 5D2 and all Canon lenses (TS-E 17mm f4 L, 24-70mm f2.8 L, 70-200mm f2.8 L IS USM II, 85mm f1.8, 50mm f1.4), and a flash (580 EXII). I also frequently rent the 24mm TS-E for shoots, so you'll see that one pop up, too. It's next on my wish list if anyone wants to contribute to the cause;).