Hi all! Newbie here :D

David Mitchell

Hi everyone,

I am brand new to photography, although I do have a compact digital camera I only use it just to make snapshots and nothing artistic etc. I know a few of my friends spending thousands on high end lenses for various purposes and I am always amazed at the photo that are taken with them, but then think about the cost to get to that stage.

I came across an article a few days ago on a new tech blog, PSFK, and found an interesting article and video on tintype photography aka wet plate and there is a portrait studio doing walk in wet plate photographs

Here is the article:

Cool Hunting: Visit The World’s Only TinType Photography Studio [Video] - PSFK

I like the fact that tintype plate photography is more a case that once the photo is taken, thats it, it captures the moment and gives back a single original that can't ever be replicated, its a one off for that exact moment in time with those conditions.

I find that with the digital cameras its a case of not worrying about taking hundreds of photos, some turn out fine, others are discarded. Once a digital photo is taken that you want it can be copied, sent around to everyone, printed out anywhere and modified however you want.

Although this means its a very versatile medium it also means that the subject of whatever was taken is replicated over and over or modified so that it doesn't portray that exact moment the photo was taken.

I have decided to get into some basic film photography, I mean really basic, I am in the process of getting a Kodak Brownie six-20 model C (1946-53) as my first 'proper' film camera.

I am also aware that you are able to convert a box brownie into a wet plate camera which I will do at some point once I get more into it and learn more about photography.