Tin Type Simulation

This is one of a set of images that were supposed to continue the coffee - cyanotype series. But I started fiddling with the tin-type simulation in SilverFX and was intrgued by the look it gave.

TinTypePortrait1InaSept2010.jpg

The setup is shown in the 'Sanp of the Day' thread except that the softbox wasn't used in this casse and it was shot with overhead daylight ples reflector. Image taken with a Cooke Soft Focus Lense at f4.5 on a Cambo Legend fitted with a PhaseOne P45 back. Raw file processed through CaptureOne 5 with some desaturation and then SilverFX Pro in PS. Some gausian blus has been added to the very edges of the image to soften the frame line to match the look of the rest of the image.

I find it hard to have a view on portraits as I'm not very good at them, here I find the expression very intense and perhaps not suited to the soft look, maybe a little less eye contact would work better for me? (but then I'm shy). I wish I could see the whole picture on my screen to get a better feel I have to cut off your good lady's shoulders and I really like the lighting on the shoulders, was the reflector placed as in the 'snap of the day ' picture?

Just a quick question about softfocus lenses, would you get the same effect if you was to slightly defocus a lens?

Hi Vic,

I guess it is quite intense although it does look more relaxed when you see the whole image (feel free to save to your desktop so you can re-size). I know what you mean though and this was an image that was essentially incidental to what we were working on. The tin-type simulation is quite dark and makes shadow areas quite dense which doesn't help.