Camera Clubs?

Stevenson Gawen

Are any of you members of small camera/photography clubs? I'm just curious. For the first time in my photographic life I'm living only 10 minutes drive from club meetings - namely the Chard Camera Club - and am now a paid member.

I entered my first competition a couple of weeks ago, and was (pleasantly!) shocked to win the DPI Portrait section. (I also now know that DPI means digital submission as opposed to a print...).
Only a small competition obviously, but still pleasing. This one was judged by Laura Pierce, apparently a well known portrait photographer, although me being new here didn't know.

This was the shot - most of you will have seen it already I think.
028_Portrait_Altitude.jpg

I'm told I'm a brave photographer 😄 to go all out on the black shadows, instead of retaining detail - but she loved it!

I'm enjoying the club so far, although it seems I'm a bit unconventional - no one has heard of my favorite software Darktable for example. ;)
There's a software workshop in a fortnight, so I'm told I do a short demo if I like :)

What's your small club experience (if any) like?

I attended a club meeting some 6 years ago. Although it appeared to be based out of a semi-nearby library, the meeting was held in a "satellite" branch that was farther still. I was unimpressed and never returned.

Great portrait Steve!
As Pete says, yes I am a member of one and have been for several years. I joined to have access to the talks by guest speakers. Competitions don't interest me at all, so I don't enter them. Although I did contribute to one street photography themed competition in order to help bump up the number of entries, as turnout was expected to be low. It turned out not to be so, and one of my images won the event.