Show & Tell First Post.

Richard Mullard

Here go's on my first post.

Had the day off today annual gas safety check for the boiler, and was kicking my heels wanting something to-do this after noon rather than sit down in front of the TV, which is oh so easy to do these days, I went out to a place over looking the Thames valley and gave the Cokin P003 a try.This was to see if my post processing skills are any good at real world pictures and not just around where I live, it's not too bad considering I'm still a noob at this IR malarkey.

Okay the all important info is as follows:

Camera EOS 450D
Exposure 1/1000
Aperture f/5.6
Focal Length 50 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias 0 EV

I know some would say why such a high shutter speed, its all to do with the light, the best time for IR shots so I've read is in the mornings or evenings, not when the sun is directly over head, I'm still working on trying to get the fake 'aerochrome' look, that needs a bit more head scratching and cussing before I can get that right.

The other thing to be very careful of in IR photography is dust, post processing shows it up a treat.

Cheers for now

Rich

That is very striking indeed Rich and very effective. Is this a straight 450D? The clouds are particularly impressive and I like the golden foliage, very dream-like. Aerochrome can be pretty psychedelic can't it?! I like the signature too. :)

Hi Pete

Thanks for that, no it's a modded 450d ie both low pass filters have been removed so it has a bare sensor, dust is a big problem because you have to disable the auto clean function before you mod the camera or it gets it proverbial's in a bunch when you next power up. At sometime I need to put some plain glass over the sensor to protect it better.

White balance was set in DPP and channel swapped in Ps that gets you part way there, then run it through colorefex using the 'geyser sunset' filter.

Rich