The hope, the war, the next war, and something else

Gianluca Drago

I can only post 10 photos per post here and I'm not good at make selections.

There is this small town in the nearby mountains, called Asiago, you can search for it. It shared the same history of many other communities isolated in the mountains until at the beginning of the past century it had some hopes to become the destination of rich people during their holidays (the train station also nowadays is frescoed with advertisements from that time, with families skying in winters and hiking in lush coniferous forests in summers, I took some photos recently non without the usual bureaucratic annoyances to get a permit).

Then, World War I came along and erased all dreams of any possible development. Asiago was one of the most terrible theaters of that war here in Italy, and much of its population forcibly deported to distant Italian territories. After that came World War II. After the second war Asiago slowly finally became a tourist destination and was overrun by wild and misplaced constructions. Eventually, global warming arrived, and Asiago no longer got enough snow for skiing. Tourists are deserting it.

Its old houses, built long time before the postwar boom, are very simple houses: walls, usually not even painted, sheet metal roofs (rusted), a door, and simple windows outlined by slabs of local stone.

This is a photographic project I have been pursuing since last summer. And this is a taste of it. 10 photos are not enough to get a taste, sorry.

dc-lx100m2-PAN8899.jpg

dc-lx100m2-PAN8905.jpg

dc-lx100m2-PAN8896.jpg

P1015270.jpg

P1015135.jpg

P1015274.jpg

P1015451.jpg

P1015452.jpg

P1015477.jpg

P1015873.jpg

Last edited:
Nice set! You really captured the abandoned town vibe. Even the shots in sunny conditions look a little desolate.

Nice set! You really captured the abandoned town vibe. Even the shots in sunny conditions look a little desolate.